Bridal Blogger – The First Meltdown – Tuesday Feature

We totally giggled reading this, and even Todd (my hockey loving, football playing partner) thought that this was funny, but also scary. Really!? IT COSTS THAT MUCH FOR LINENS!? I have never heard of that in my LIFE! Anyways, I will let you read all about it…

Wow.  What a week it’s been.  I officially had my first taste of bridal stress, complete with a minor panic attack, a very crazy emotional roller coaster, and quite a bit of exhaustion.  The cause of my woes?  Tablecloths.

Yea, I know.  Pathetic.

A few days ago, I realized I hadn’t checked “find linen rentals” off my to-do list, so my mom and I took a trip down town to this fun little rental place to check out pricing on tablecloths.

We should have known it was going to be a bad day when we walked up to the building and couldn’t even find the front door for a good five minutes. (This was probably our fault.)  When we finally found the door and got over our embarrassment at the amount of time we wasted, we walked inside to find a totally non-inviting warehouse full of tables and chairs and a couple old guys standing around.  Was this the right place?  According to one of the old men, yes, yes it was, and if you just follow the colorful footprints on the floor you’ll find yourself at the wedding rentals.  So on we went, one pink, blue, green, red, yellow step at a time.

We went in through the office door and stepped into a completely different scene.  Gone were the cold cement floors and stacks of storage.  This room was a wonderland of colors and linens and decorated tables.  Inspiration hit me at a hundred miles an hour (or kilometers if you’re Canadian, I guess!) and I was ready to choose my very own tablecloths.  A very sweet woman came in and asked if she could help.  Of course she could! I needed to see everything.

We chatted about the basics for a bit; where would my wedding be located, how many guests, what are my colors and all that fun stuff.  Then we got into the conversation of tablecloths and whether or not I had anything in mind.  So I told her about my vision.  Rustic elegance, I said.  I want simple, beautiful elegance.  Something unique, not overdone.  I want to look back at my wedding 50 years from now and think “my goodness, wasn’t that lovely?” instead of wincing at my choice of decorations.  So please, give me neutrals because neutrals will last forever.
She smiled at my choice.
Gray and ivory.

Off she went to another room to gather a few crisp, freshly pressed gray and ivory tablecloths to place on a “dress-up” table.  She laid out my colors and I immediately knew I had made the right choice.  This was it.  These were the exact tablecloths that would be at my wedding.  *Sigh.* If only life were really that sweet and easy.

After I felt my heart connect with these precious tablecloths, we went over to her desk to start figuring out the numbers.  The excitement was building up.  Oh, how much we were about to save by renting instead of buying!

Two-hundred and sixty-eight guests?  Let’s see, that’s somewhere around 25 tables, give or take a few.  So your total for all the tablecloths, plus the charcoal gray runners, will be . . .

Here it was.  The beautiful number that would make my little frugal heart leap for joy!

About $992.96

……

What.

Lady, you are one fantastic joker.  I mean, truly, it really sounded like you just told me it will cost me almost one thousand dollars for my tablecloths.

Oh.  You’re serious?  Right.

On she went, telling me about all the services they could offer, something about delivering or options to pick up.  I really have no idea what she told me after that number, because I was having a mini heart attack.  All I did was smile and nod like “oh, totally! I spend $1,000 every single day! This is absolutely in my budget!”  

 

 

..Not.

One quick glance at my mom told me she was thinking the exact same thing.  Fortunately the plastered-on smiles we were both reppin’ didn’t seem to phase the sweet sales lady.  We took her business card, thanked her over and over, let her know we’d keep in touch, and out we walked, leaving those fake smiles on until we were far, far away from hearing distance.

Needless to say, the rest of my day was spent online, looking for discount linens and recyle-wedding tablecloths.  Cheap.  I am a DIY budget bride; I refuse to spend $1000 on anything. (Except the photographer, my single exception.)  I spent half the day in one wreck of an emotional state.  Tablecloth worries turned into bridesmaid dress worries turned into ‘did I pick the right wedding dress’ worries turned into my wedding is falling apart.

But alas, super-mom came in and saved the day.  Let me just say, my mother is brilliant.   She can take anything, and I mean anything, that’s falling apart and put it back together  even better than it was in the first place.  (She probably learned this skill from dealing with her daughter’s unreasonable emotions for 21 years…)  My super-mom found tablecloths for my wedding.  The very same colors, and basically the same materials, for just $300.  And we’re buying them, which means we can re-sell them someday and make some of the money back.  Like I said, she’s brilliant.

So even though my first experience of bridal trauma was, well, traumatic, it wasn’t as bad as it could have been.  I’m sure all of you brides have had your fair share of this:

The bright side?  I will never have to experience tablecloth debt, thank you very much.

One thought on “Bridal Blogger – The First Meltdown – Tuesday Feature

  1. Pingback: day thirty five. | well, hello there.

Leave a Reply

