Blogging Brides – “So many DIYs to do, so little time!” – Tuesday Feature

We love how Emily is so honest about her wedding plans. There is no fear of the unexpected, and a true passion for DIY! (Those flowers!!! :-O)  Take a look at how Emily is coming along with all the plans for her wedding!

(we also blogged yesterday a sneak peek for a real wedding: Derek and Kristie! Check it out: https://ainsleysaffairs.wordpress.com/2012/10/08/sneak-peek-derek-kristie-vainio-thanksgiving-2013/)

 

Here we are at my second week of Bridal Blogging, and I am as busy as I could be! To those of you planning a wedding: have you hit that moment where you realize how much work is left to be done in just a small amount of time?  Well, today marks exactly 5 months until my Big Day, and I’m already starting to feel that anxiousness about all the plans I have left.  There’s nothing more disappointing than marking one thing off your checklist only to realize it doesn’t seem like it really made that much of a difference in the first place. I marked off two major plans this week—making bouquets and registering for gifts—and still feel like I’m behind.  In reality, I’m really not behind, and getting these things done really did help cut down my to-do list.  And, as a bonus, both projects were an (almost) absolute blast!

I went to a hobby store at the beginning of the week because they were having a 50% off sale on their flowers.  Okay, let’s be real, I’m buying fake flowers for my wedding because 1.) silk flowers are just SO much cheaper and 2.) I really don’t care to have my reception smell like a garden.  So if you aren’t super picky about flowers and you want to save money, go silk, especially if you want to keep your bouquet as a keepsake!  Anyway, I bought seven bouquets-worth of flowers for $100 (which is equal to $ 97.4540 Canadian dollars, you know, just in case you were curious.) plus a little extra for decorative ribbon, then went on my way back home to start my little project.

Yea, the word “little” probably isn’t completely accurate.  I will never, ever underestimate the strength of a florist.  Seriously people, I had to use heavy duty garden scissors to cut the stems on these babies.  By the time I’d finished half of the bouquets, my hands were bruising from the amount of pressure it took to chop the thick wires inside those fake stem nightmares.  It was some serious work compared to spray painting vases or putting together a save the date.  But they turned out so lovely, with ivory hydrangeas and mums, and a few splashes of coral in the bridesmaids bouquets.  (I guess you’d like to know, the colors of my wedding are light coral, charcoal gray, and ivory!) I am completely satisfied, and aside from the bruising it was rewarding to know that I created them all by myself!

My next adventure was Registry Day.  The day where Matt and I got to scan a bunch of stuff for other people to buy for us.  You best believe we scanned everything our little hearts desired, from kitchen supplies, to home decorations, to movies and board games.  I have to say, I was proud of him; he was more frugal with the scanner than I was, and kept me from scanning things we probably wouldn’t ever use. (Although I did sneak away once to scan this adorable rolling kitchen shelf.  He said I won’t need it.  I agree to disagree.)   We proceeded to spend five hours walking around our two favorite stores, and by the time we finished we were about ready to collapse right there in the parking lot.  A word of advice about registering?  Wear tennis shoes, or at least something with support.  Otherwise your foot muscles will burn for the next 24 hours.  True story.

It was just so much fun for us to do this together, though.  We turned Registry Day into one long, creative date, instead of making it a duty or a hassle.  We ate breakfast together at Panera Bagel, sipped coffee, and relaxed until we felt prepared for the crazy day.  We laughed about the ridiculous amount of junk we could register for, like foot massagers, donut hole makers, and toilet doilies (like who really needs that stuff?).  I won’t say we didn’t have a few mini-arguments.  You probably will too; not everyone thinks the same way about what items should be on their registry list.  For example, camouflage hunting boots should not be on the registry.  My fiance believes otherwise.   But when it came to the big decisions, it was more exciting than anything else to think that we were getting a glimpse of the things we might own together as a newlywed couple.

When we finally finished registering, we settled in at our favorite book store and talked about how excited we are to spend our lives together.  I know it sounds mushy, but I wouldn’t want it any other way.  As long and stressful as some of this planning can be, I always remember that it’s really not about what flowers I choose or what gifts we’ll receive; it’s about being with my best friend for the rest of my life.

Definitely worth the bruised hands and sore feet, I’d say.

Leave a Reply

