Blogging Bride Tuesdays! – Introducing Emily Shawgo of Fort Wayne, Indiana!

Here in Vancouver, B.C., it is soooo exciting for us to be including someone like Emily and her fiancé Matt in our blog! Coming to us all the way from Fort Wayne, Indiana is so incredibly cool for us, because we get to see and read all the things that make Fort Wayne wonderful for weddings, in contrast to B.C. (We think B.C. is gorgeous, but you should google Fort Wayne: It is SO ADORABLE. gushing!!!! – bugging Todd to go on VayCay to Indiana ASAP ahahaha!) So, without further ado, here is Emily:

Wedding dress, flowers, caterer, reception hall . . . how on earth does anyone choose anything for their wedding with so many things to cover?  Seriously, overwhelming is an understatement when planning a wedding.  I’m sure every bride understands exactly what I’m talking about.

Hi! I’m Emily, and I’m getting married in five..(ahh! five??) months.

My super amazing, irresistibly handsome fiance, Matthew (no sarcasm here, I truly think these things about him and I’m not afraid to brag), and I got engaged back in April during our final semester of college and we’ve been in a frenzy of wedding plans ever since.  Being the extreme planner that I am, I literally had my bridesmaids, churches, colors, theme, photographer, caterer, honeymoon, AND wedding dress picked out within one month of the engagement.  About 90% of everyone that I knew told me I was going too fast and planning too much; that I needed to slow down because I “still had so much time until the wedding.”  Six months later, I still disagree with them.

To all you brides, soon-to-be brides, hope-to-be-soon-to-be-brides out there, I have one thing to tell you.  One thing that I hope you get from my Bridal Tuesday posts, if you don’t get anything else at all.  And that thing is: there is no such thing as planning your wedding too fast.

If I hadn’t started planning as soon as I did, I guarantee that right now, I’d be even more of a mess than I already am trying to plan the most important day of my life.

There is, however, such a thing as planning your wedding too slow.  Obviously.  So I’d like to share some of my experiences with you, maybe to inspire you or give you some input, or even just to encourage you to keep going, because as tired as all the wedding planning will make you, it will be worth it.  I mean, c’mon, all this planning will end in a celebration and union with (hopefully) your favorite person on earth!

So, what crazy, fun, romantic, horrific wedding plans have I experienced thus far?  Well, it feels like just about everything, but I hear it’s just the beginning.  Actually, to be honest, things have gone a lot more smoothly than I thought possible.  Before I had even met Matt, I found the most lovely church to get married in while working with my parents three summers ago.  They own a cleaning business, and I needed money, so I went along with them to clean a few buildings; one of those buildings being St. John’s Lutheran Church.

It’s exactly what I imagined for my wedding.  Stained glass windows, a ‘middle’ aisle, and even a bell that rings every time someone gets married.  How much sweeter could it get?  So, as I cleaned the church every week, I would imagine it was my very own wedding day.  I would walk down the aisle with my feather duster in hand, hum a pretty tune and imagine my future husband standing before me.  Then my parents would walk in and laugh, (as they should have, I mean when I think about it, this is seriously embarrassing.) and tell me my day would come soon enough.  They were right.

After Matt and I got engaged (which, by the way, he did an incredible job of making it the most beautiful proposal. Maybe if you’re lucky I’ll tell the story sometime.) we scheduled the church and made it our first official wedding plan.  Everything just about fell into place after that.  Thank goodness for Pinterest, or I would have had so much trouble organizing and planning my ideas.

One of the main reasons I am so thankful we planned so much ahead of time is the fact that Matt and I have spent a majority of our engagement long distance.  Okay, more like semi-long distance.  I’m from Fort Wayne, Indiana and Matt’s from Indianapolis, so we’re about two hours apart.  It’s really not that bad of a drive, and we see each other almost every weekend, but when it comes to wedding planning it can get a little difficult to keep him involved in everything.  So we spent every moment we could during our last semester in school planning everything that needed to be done together.  I have to say, I’m truly blessed to have a guy that really doesn’t mind being part of the wedding plans.  Sometimes a bride just needs help and support from her fiance and many, if not most, guys cringe at the thought of picking out a theme or outfits for the wedding party.  Matt was even more eager than I was to plan what his guys would be wearing.  Although, this might be because he’s even more of an extreme planner than I am, and that’s saying something.  I’m thankful all the same.  He really is the most incredible guy.  (No offense.  I’m sure all your fiance’s are incredible, too.)

Okay, so if I’ve planned just about everything, what else could I possibly need to do over the next five months?  You all know exactly what else I could possibly do:  everything else!  And that’s where the rest of this Bridal Tuesday blog will come in.  Every Tuesday until the day of my wedding, I will be filling you in on everything else.  The emotional roller coasters, the upcoming bridezilla moments (cause I’ve never had one of those before..ahem…) the excitement about my future marriage, and the intricate details about invitations, table decorations, registering for gifts (CAN’T WAIT.) and the fact that I’ll be putting a dusting feather in my wedding bouquet to remind me of all those cleaning days I spent dreaming about my Big Day.

Welcome to my wedding planning world. 🙂

Emily

One thought on “Blogging Bride Tuesdays! – Introducing Emily Shawgo of Fort Wayne, Indiana!

  1. Pingback: day twenty one. | well, hello there.

Leave a Reply

